A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The original book.

This September, I had the opportunity to watch a musical rendition of “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” The production had a lot to improve, but nevertheless, the experience was more than what I came there for. Why? Somewhere along the play, the theatre became a cathedral.

From the very first act, goosebumps visited me. At that moment, I attributed it to the fact that I do love watching plays. Also, theatrical shows, especially musicals, never failed to bring me this wonderful feeling. Furthermore, I have been intrigued by the story of the Wizard of Oz–a scarecrow wanting a brain, a tin man desiring for a heart, and a lion longing for courage. Dorothy just wanted to go home. As the actors and actresses were singing, dancing and acting, the whole experience turned from just a play to an encounter with God.

I was suddenly in tears, weeping, and I cannot control them. At that very moment, God was reminding me that the greatest commandment is to love Him with all my mind, heart soul and strength (Mark 12:30). He also reminded me that as a Christian, I am a stranger in this foreign land (1 Peter 2:11a), thus, I must not be conformed to it’s standards (Romans 12:2). Yes, I will have a great journey in this foreign land requiring my mind to be thinking and learning, my heart to be passionate for Him, and courageously obeying His will. In the end, there’s really no place like home, like heaven.

All these might not be the meaning the author of this tale originally intended it to be. However, this is how God spoke to me. Amidst the current circumstances our trip was in, that moment was special. It doesn’t matter if I am sitting with my students and their parents. It was a special moment with me and my Sovereign Lord.

I know one more reason why I was weeping that morning. I was grieving. “Break my heart for what breaks Yours” says the song by Hillsong. My heart was grieving because of the sin in this world. A question for God was freshly brought up again. But my God is gracious, He comforts me with His word: “The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our sons forever, that we may observe all the words of this law” (Deuteronomy 29:29).

Mind. Heart. Courage. Home. I am grateful that He’s always in control.🙂

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

