A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

The wise and the learned

Jesus commissioned 70 of His disciples to be laborers in the plentiful harvest. Luke records that these seventy were successful in their mission. They were even able to cast away demons in Jesus’ name. They returned to Jesus rejoicing, obviously amazed at the things that they were able to do.  Although, Jesus encouraged them not to rejoice because of spirits being subject to them, but because their names were recorded in heaven. Jesus also rejoiced, but Luke did not record it as rejoicing with the disciples, but “He rejoiced greatly in the Holy Spirit,” and then praised God the Father, saying “I praise You, O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that You have hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have revealed them to infants. Yes, Father, for in this way was well-pleasing in Your sight.” (Lk 10:21,NASB).

 

I read this and told God, “Lord, I don’t want to be wise and intelligent anymore.” But at the end of the day, it’s not really about being “wise and intelligent” per se, but it’s about the pride that consumes us when we know we are wise and intelligent. When we know a lot of things, can prove different phenomena, and win debates, we tend to be self-reliant and our world starts to revolve around us. It begins to be all about us, and our abilities.  Jesus also said, “If your right hand makes you stumble, cut it off and throw it from you; for it is better for you to lose one of the parts of your body, than for your whole body to go into hell.” (Mt.5:30,NASB) So what does the wise and the intelligent have to do? “Cut off” their own wisdom and intelligence–surrender them to the giver of True knowledge and wisdom.

 

Personally speaking, I have often found my mind as the one which causes me to stumble. Questions would flood my consciousness and demand my attention. Some of them get answered and these answers stirs up some mysterious emotions inside me. At these times, I humbly come before my Lord, the Source of everything, weeping, thanking Him of these revelations. But I also ask Him for help so I would be able to test them because I only want to hold on to what is good (1 Thessalonians 5:21).

 

At the end of the day, I just like to stand in awe of my amazing God who gives and takes away. My Father who simply loves me and who has a wonderful plan for my life. I pray that I would be able to “lay aside every encumbrance, [especially the “trivial” things], and the sin which so easily entangles [me], that [I] may be able to run with endurance the race that is set before [me], fixing [my] eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith” (Hebrews 12:1-2,NASB).

 

 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

