A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

Pray for one another

This morning, I was blessed to be able to pray for someone I do not know. I thought I was the only one left in the balcony of CCF’s worship hall so I decided to leave. When I was about to approach the exit, someone called my attention and asked me if I could pray for her. I was humbled because I don’t know her and she’s trusting me to pray for her, to pray with her. But then, when it comes to prayer, we’re all the same  because our prayer’s focus must be Jesus and nobody else. After asking if there’s any particular prayer request, we prayed.

Prayer

I can still remember the first time I led someone into prayer–not those in classes with formulated prayer–but a real prayer from the heart, with my own words, being conscious of who I am and who I was talking to. There were three of us and we’re supposed to start an activity in a listening workshop. They were both older than me, they were friends, and I knew that they were in YFC longer than me. They were HPVs then, and I was an incoming YFC club officer, barely six months since my youth camp, not even a year since I started my relationship with Christ. I remember feeling awkward, shy, uncomfortable. I didn’t know what words to say, but I gathered all the courage I have in me and led our group into a prayer. Since then, I have learned how to pray, I have discovered the wonderful blessing of prayer, especially that of praying for, and with, another. I remember the intensity of these prayer moments, of the blessings that accompany it, of the bond that was formed because of praying for one another.

Through that experience this morning, God reminded me to continue praying for my friends and loved ones, because prayer is the only thing that connects me from them, especially those whom I barely see. He also reminded me to say a little prayer for the people I meet, even on the street. I would never know what they’re going through, but I believe my little prayers wouldn’t go unnoticed by God. The woman asking me to pray for her was like God telling me, “Karla, do I need to ask you to pray for your neighbors before you pray for them?” It was a good reminder indeed.

Exit
This morning, I was asking God if I’m really good to go from UP. I believe (and I’m claiming it) that I’m going to finish my undergraduate degree this semester. I know I’m going to exit from UP, but I was asking God if I have accomplished (or is accomplishing) what He has placed me there from the beginning. Since He planted me in UP, aside from studying, I’m asking the question have I done what He wanted me to do there? If there are more things to be done, then, I asked Him to lead the way.

Reflecting more about the incident this morning, I’m not sure if it is somewhat an answer to what I was asking Him. Since I was on my way to the exit when someone asked for help, would it be that there’s still something that God would want me to do just before I graduate? I was able to hear the woman because I forgot to put on my earphones when I got ready to leave. In the same way, if it is true that God would want me to do something more, I pray that I would be able to give my full attention to Him who gives orders and then obey. I’m not really sure if this is really the case, but just in case, I pray that I would be “all eyes and all ears.”

Visit
My day ended in a way that I did not expect. I was persuaded to go to Xavier for the CFC’s Manila MCG gathering. I went because I really wanted to see and catch up with someone before he leaves the country this saturday. And as I went there, I was able to see people whom I also miss. They missed me, I missed them. It was such a blessing to see again the people who had a great part in my life, especially in my spiritual growth and maturity. I was blessed to share stories and updates with people whom I have prayed with in the past. It was a real blessing to be reunited, even for a few hours, to the people who have prayed for me, and with me. The people whom I have shared my life with, and to some, even my deepest, darkest self.

At the end of the day, there is just one lesson to be remembered: Amidst physical or personal distance, prayer keeps people connected with each other. And this is possible because of the Recipient of these prayers. He unifies us all.

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.” -James 5:16 (NASB, emphasis mine)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

