A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

Isn’t it Obvious?

Something comic happened this evening. My cousin held a birthday dinner tonight and so some relatives were present.

After eating dinner, Mom and I went back to our house (which is just beside my cousin’s house). As I opened the television and began to watch, Mom went upstairs, I assumed to go up to her room. Time passed by, and several people were looking for my Mom–Mylene, Quinn’s nanny; Ninang; Tito Mike; Ate–almost everyone. She was not in my cousin’s house, nor in her room. Her things were all in her room so she couldn’t have gone out. Besides, I saw her go up the stairs. Everyone was just asking, “Nasaan mommy mo? Nasaan si Angie?” But no one could answer the question. We all just wondered where she could have been.

Hours passed and she finally re-appeared. It turned out that she was in my room, playing a game in the laptop. She was there all along. It was funny because everyone just asked and then looked for her in different places and asked the persons present if they’ve seen her. No one thought of calling her out loud. If we did, she could have responded at once.

I also find it amazing because for some reason, we fall into this kind of mistake when it comes to our relationship with Jesus Christ. We oftentimes look for Him in different places where He was present either before us, or before other people. We go there and ask people whether they’ve seen Jesus. But we never realized that this kind of search is futile for He is just in our room all along–He is in our heart. All we need to do is to call on Him, and He will answer. As God said to Jeremiah, ‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know’ (Jeremiah 33:3).

I am grateful of what happened a while ago. It might have been a simple comedy but for me, God used it to speak to me. He reminded me that I can only find the true Him if I search within my heart for He resides in me. I may gain knowledge and insights from history and other works about Him, but all these would only make sense if I’m always connected with Him. Only by calling on to Him unceasingly in prayer will He reveal to me “great and unsearchable things I do not know.”

Truly, my quest is still about fides quaerens intellectum (faith seeking understanding, St. Anselm), but I keep in mind and heart that “understanding is a reward of faith” (St. Augustine).

To God almighty be all the Glory!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

