A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

God’s Washing Machine

Clockwise, counterclockwise. Heavy, light. Six, ten, four, six. Stop, a little turn.

It was our washing machine. It stops every so often, sometimes after six turns, sometimes after ten, and at times after only four. Then I would have to turn the dial very little and give it a little “push” so it can move on it’s cycling motion.

As I was watching this motion, I asked myself, how did they know that this interchanging cycling motion can aid in washing the clothes in the machine? Why not just a continuous clockwise or counterclockwise motion? I remembered a friend who is a Physics major. Maybe he can explain it to me. But at that moment, all I can do is ask and wonder.

Then at one moment, I witnessed the washing machine turn its contents in one direction! I was actually taken aback and sudden fear enveloped me–what was happening wasn’t right. With one turn, I put an end to the seeming endless mania. I disregarded it at first but then it happened for a second time.

Then I heard God spoke to me. “Karla, my daughter. You may ask, but it is more important to have faith. Have faith in my design, just as you put your faith in this washing machine that it will aid you in cleaning your clothes. You may wonder the wisdom behind it, but the answer will have to wait until you do your research. But now, all you have to do is to trust them that they know what they’re doing, this machine have been tried and tested for years. Don’t let your question stop you from using the machine that has been provided for you. In the same way, have faith in Me, trust My plans, be sure that My way cleanses you from all the dirt and impurities that you may collect as you live your life for Me. Use the different faculties I have provided for you, and when you find them not functioning, trust Me because I hold the dial and I am the one who will push you. Just as the clothes need laundry, you also need to bask in My love, for there I will shower you with abundant graces. Trust Me. Put your faith in Me, and in Me alone.

Proverbs 3:1-8 (NIV)
1
My son, do not forget my teaching,
but keep my commands in your heart,

2 for they will prolong your life many years
and bring you prosperity.

3 Let love and faithfulness never leave you;
bind them around your neck,
write them on the tablet of your heart.

4 Then you will win favor and a good name
in the sight of God and man.

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;

6 in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight. [a]

7 Do not be wise in your own eyes;
fear the LORD and shun evil.

8 This will bring health to your body
and nourishment to your bones.
In the end, I can only whisper a little prayer of thanks for I am in awe of Him. And one thing God does is to make us stand in awe of Him (Ecclesiastes 3:14b, TEV).

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

