A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

BIG Message 1: Cross Revealed, Cost Accounted For

I believe He had been preparing my heart for this encounter with Him last weekend. He stirred up the “normality” in my everyday life and burdened me with a renewed passion of bringing my family to Him, putting Him at the center of our family life. He unveiled my eyes to the truth, set up labels, and revealed the wrongness in my normality. I was in pain, yet I was peaceful.

Friday night came and I was again stirred up. A loved one really disapproved of my decisions. However, I believe she was used by God to make things more clear to me; God spoke to me through her.

He revealed the crosses that I have to take up daily–family and faith. These are the major ones, and there may be little crosses along the way. But these two are the big ones which really are heavy. So, on the first night, having affirmed the gift He has given me, I was asking God, “How do I bear…” But He cut me and did not allow me to finish my sentence. He impressed upon me Matthew 11:28-30. ( 28″Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”) Indeed, taking it up daily doesn’t mean I also have to carry the weight of it. He offers to carry them for me, and all I have to do is to surrender them to Him.

Jesus said in Luke 14:27-28, “And no one can be my disciple who does not carry his own cross and follow me. But don’t begin until you count the cost…” He has helped me account for the cost of following Him, of what’s going to be hanged in the line when I continue to move this way. He spoke to me and said, “This is the cost of following me–the strain in your relationship with people who believe otherwise. But don’t worry because I will give you strength, wisdom and patience–all the graces that you will need in order to deal with them. Take my yoke, give me your burden and I will give you rest.”

I have peace in Jesus, I am secured in what He gave, is giving, and will be giving. As Paul wrote in his letter to the Philippians: “Don’t worry about anything, but in all your prayers ask God for what you need, always asking him with a thankful heart. And God’s peace, which is far beyond human understanding, will keep your hearts and minds safe in union with Christ Jesus.”

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

