A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

Teach My Heart

crossFides quaerens intellectum. It means faith seeking understanding. I have adopted this as my motto at the start of 2009. This is by St. Anselm, a 12th century monk. I knew his name was familiar, but I did not search high and low to discover where I have encountered him previously. I did not know until recently.

I was tired of my desktop background so I checked what wallpapers were available for my use. I clicked on this image which I doodled almost mindlessly using MS Paint a year ago. It reflects what I was going through at that time, using someone else’s prayer to extend mine, as I continue fighting my everyday battles. I knew I got the prayer from the song Teach My Heart which was in the album Something More given to me by a Jesuit priest. It goes something like this:

“Teach me to seek You, and reveal Yourself to me as I seek…Let me seek You in desiring You; let me desire You in seeking You; let me find You in loving You; let me love You in finding You.”

I was dumbfounded when I read whose prayer it was–St. Anselm! So this was where I first encountered him. With this, I realized that this prayer is still relevant to my current status, especially now that I have adopted fides quaerens intellectum, as well as St. Augustine’s comment on faith seeking understanding, that is, “Understanding is a reward of faith. Therefore seek not to understand that you may believe, but believe that you may understand.”

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

