A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

repair job

I picked up my laptop from HP this morning, and am I ever glad to be reaquainted with it after a month. I received it, opened its lid, turned it on and watched it boot. I heard the sound when the windows logo appeared, and I heard the sound when start up was complete. I was as excited as a child is excited on her birthday party. I explored the programs, the desktop, my computer, my documents, pictures, music–everything’s like brand new!
Yes, it is bare, just like a recently purchased laptop, but only on the “inside,” or it’s software. But it has the same scratches, the same short-lived battery, the same “smoothened” keys, in other words, it is the same old, battered laptop. But the outside does not matter much. What is important for me now is that my laptop can start fresh. It will have newly installed programs, new documents, new music, new pictures, etc. It will function with more speed now that the RAM is upgraded to 2.5gb from 1gb. It would be able to support more tedious working conditions, more battering in other words, as I work my way to graduation day, and into a whole new world after that. Bottom line is this: it is old outside but new inside, and with the upgrade, I am promised that it will function more efficiently.
My laptop was given another chance to serve me. I am given another chance.
In the Lord’s name, then, I warn you: do not continue to live like the heathen, whose thoughts are worthless and whose minds are in the dark. They have no part in the life that God gives, for they are completely ignorant and stubborn. They have lost all feeling of shame; they give themselves over to vice and do all sorts of indecent things without restraint.
That was not what you learned about Christ! You certainly heard about him, and as his followers you were taught the truth that is in Jesus. So get rid of your old self, which made you live as you used to–the old self that was being destroyed by its deceitful desires. Your hearts and minds must be made completely new, and you must put on the new self, which is created in God’s likeness and reveals itself in the true life that is upright and holy.
Ephesians 4:17-24 (TEV)
I picked up my laptop from HP this morning, and am I ever glad to be reacquainted with it after a month. I received it, opened its lid, turned it on and watched it boot. I heard the sound when the windows logo appeared, and I heard the sound when start up was complete. I was as excited as a child is excited on her birthday party. I explored the programs, the desktop, my computer, my documents, pictures, music–every thing’s like brand new!
Yes, it is bare, just like a recently purchased laptop, but only on the “inside,” or it’s software. But it has the same scratches, the same short-lived battery, the same “smoothed” keys, in other words, it is the same old, battered laptop. But the outside does not matter much. What is important for me now is that my laptop can start fresh. It will have newly installed programs, new documents, new music, new pictures, etc. It will function with more speed now that the RAM is upgraded to 2.5gb from 1gb. It would be able to support more tedious working conditions, more battering in other words, as I work my way to graduation day, and into a whole new world after that. Bottom line is this: it is old outside but new inside, and with the upgrade, I am promised that it will function more efficiently.
My laptop was given another chance to serve me. I am given another chance.
In the Lord’s name, then, I warn you: do not continue to live like the heathen, whose thoughts are worthless and whose minds are in the dark. They have no part in the life that God gives, for they are completely ignorant and stubborn. They have lost all feeling of shame; they give themselves over to vice and do all sorts of indecent things without restraint.
That was not what you learned about Christ! You certainly heard about him, and as his followers you were taught the truth that is in Jesus. So get rid of your old self, which made you live as you used to–the old self that was being destroyed by its deceitful desires. Your hearts and minds must be made completely new, and you must put on the new self, which is created in God’s likeness and reveals itself in the true life that is upright and holy.
Ephesians 4:17-24 (TEV)

1 Comment»

  raalk wrote @

A little background: my laptop crashed (blue screen and no display) last May 22. I handed it in to HP on the 25th. Turned out, it was the memory.


Leave a Reply

