A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

brain and mind

This semester, I am taking the subject Science, Technology, and Society, or more commonly known as STS. Last thursday was the first lecture by Dean Saloma of the College of Science. He was supposed to give us an overview of how science is viewed. In all the things that he told the class of 160 students, there are two things that I couldn’t forget.
The first one is the view that science is not just a systematic way of compiling a body of knowledge, but a way of perceiving. It is like a lens of a camera which one sees things differently. He mentioned, specifically, like religion. Thus, it was implied that you cannot mix religion and science. On the contrary, I believe that science is God-given. All the knowledge that we, humans, can aquire was allowed by God so that we can move towards Him, to bring Glory to His Name. Science answers the questions who, what, when, where, and how, and religion answers the question why.
Secondly, dualism was mentioned–mind and brain. I am not very familiar with the philosophical view, but in the little attempt that I’ve made to read about it, dualism proponents states that the mind and brain are two different entities. Setting that aside and going back to the lecture that I was in, this question was posed unto us: “can the mind work separate from the brain?” Being a psychology major, I am exposed to the studies of the brain, how it works, and it’s connection to how we think, feel, and act. I was thinking about all of those so in my mind, I answered “no, you cannot separate the mind from the brain.” Then out of the speakers was soundwaves that translate to something like this: “you cannot separate the mind from the brain. Therefore, there is no life after death. How can you have a mind when you are dead?”
I was dumbfounded. I did not see it coming. I was thinking of this life that we are living on earth that I ruled out life after death. It was the first time I’ve heard of the idea. Wow. As an automatic defense (so that I would retain a healthy state of mind), I told myself, That’s absurd. How can one debunk life after death based on knowledge obtained from this world, the world that is more pre-matured than the next world to come?
Now that I have put it into writing, and I have shared it to the rest of the world, tonight, I would be able to sleep soundly. Of course, excitement from reading another’s opinions on these things will keep me awake for some time.
This semester, I am taking the subject Science, Technology, and Society, or more commonly known as STS. Last thursday was the first lecture by Dean Saloma of the College of Science. He was supposed to give us an overview of how science is viewed. In all the things that he told the class of 160 students, there are two things that I couldn’t forget.
The first one is the view that science is not just a systematic way of compiling a body of knowledge, but a way of perceiving. It is like a lens of a camera which one sees things differently. He mentioned, specifically, like religion. Thus, it was implied that you cannot mix religion and science. On the contrary, I believe that science is God-given. All the knowledge that we, humans, can aquire was allowed by God so that we can move towards Him, to bring Glory to His Name. Science answers the questions who, what, when, where, and how, and religion answers the question why.
Secondly, dualism was mentioned–mind and brain. I am not very familiar with the philosophical view, but in the little attempt that I’ve made to read about it, dualism proponents states that the mind and brain are two different entities. Setting that aside and going back to the lecture that I was in, this question was posed unto us: “can the mind work separate from the brain?” Being a psychology major, I am exposed to the studies of the brain, how it works, and it’s connection to how we think, feel, and act. I was thinking about all of those so in my mind, I answered “no, you cannot separate the mind from the brain.” Then out of the speakers was soundwaves that translate to something like this: “you cannot separate the mind from the brain. Therefore, there is no life after death. How can you have a mind when you are dead?”
I was dumbfounded. I did not see it coming. I was thinking of this life that we are living on earth that I ruled out life after death. It was the first time I’ve heard of the idea. Wow. As an automatic defense (so that I would retain a healthy state of mind), I told myself, That’s absurd. How can one debunk life after death based on knowledge obtained from this world, the world that is more pre-matured than the next world to come?
Now that I have put it into writing, and I have shared it to the rest of the world, tonight, I would be able to sleep soundly. Of course, excitement from reading another’s opinions on these things will keep me awake for some time.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

