A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

fasten your seat belt

I must say that I am blessed by tonight’s UPYFC prayer meeting. A sister shared her accident story and almost instantaneously, I felt like I was being shot straight to the heart while Someone whispers the Lord’s message to me.
At first, I wasn’t sure to whom the message was for. However, during the closing worship, I’m sure that it was really for me. At this point, maybe you’re curious what the story and the message is. I cannot contain myself that’s why I approached the sister who shared her accident story and told her what I realized. I also shared it to a good friend whom I shared a few minutes before the final worship my frustrations the last 24 hours.
The sister had a car accident. She was driving her car along the University Avenue when a truck hit her, and she crashed, “ala-Jackie Chan,” according to her. The policemen who responded to the accident couldn’t believe that she was the one in the car because the car was really dilapidated and couldn’t be driven when she only sustained a small cut on her right arm, all because of the seatbelt. Apart from that, she was as good as no accident happened.
That story was translated from her speech to mind into metaphors almost instantaneously. Jesus was the seat belt, which protects the driver from major injuries, or worse, death. The accident would be any lost battle when we fall to into sin. I was also reminded of Matthew 11:28-30, the verse which tells about the yoke that Jesus offers. Somehow, I likened the yoke to the seat belt. Wearing the seat belt does not guarantee that there will be no wounds, bruises, or injuries. It offers life. Just like Jesus, when He asked us to take His yoke upon us, He did not say it would be zero pain and wound-free. Instead, when we have Jesus in our life, He gives us life. The cuts, bruises, and other injuries that we might have obtained in the course of the accident serve as reminder for us: we obtained those because we have the seat belt on us. If we did not, we would have a completely different kinds of wounds and injuries, or worse, we could already be dead.
In the same way, when we have Jesus in our life, when we fall into sin, the injuries would not be that serious. Indeed, Jesus offers us life in Him, that when we get out of the “smoking car,” we’ll be able to walk out of it gracefully, and we would be able to walk on our two feet again.
Tonight, the Lord promised me that I would be able to walk out of sin “gracefully” as long I allow Jesus to hold me tight, as long as I put my security to Jesus Christ; for when I do so, the cuts would serve as reminders of Jesus’ presence, my fall, and the need to repent. All of this boils down to my hope of heaven.
Thanks again to that sister who shared her story. All Praise and Honor is for the Lord, Jesus Christ.

I must say that I am blessed by tonight’s UPYFC prayer meeting. A sister shared her accident story and almost instantaneously, I felt like I was being shot straight to the heart while Someone whispers the Lord’s message to me.

At first, I wasn’t sure to whom the message was for. However, during the closing worship, I’m sure that it was really for me. At this point, maybe you’re curious what the story and the message is. I cannot contain myself that’s why I approached the sister who shared her accident story and told her what I realized. I also shared it to a good friend whom I shared a few minutes before the final worship my frustrations the last 24 hours.

The sister had a car accident. She was driving her car along the University Avenue when a truck hit her, and she crashed, “ala-Jackie Chan,” according to her. The policemen who responded to the accident couldn’t believe that she was the one in the car because the car was really dilapidated and couldn’t be driven when she only sustained a small cut on her right arm, all because of the seatbelt. Apart from that, she was as good as no accident happened.

That story was translated from her speech to mind into metaphors almost instantaneously. Jesus was the seat belt, which protects the driver from major injuries, or worse, death. The accident would be any lost battle when we fall to into sin. I was also reminded of Matthew 11:28-30, the verse which tells about the yoke that Jesus offers. Somehow, I likened the yoke to the seat belt. Wearing the seat belt does not guarantee that there will be no wounds, bruises, or injuries. It offers life. Just like Jesus, when He asked us to take His yoke upon us, He did not say it would be zero pain and wound-free. Instead, when we have Jesus in our life, He gives us life. The cuts, bruises, and other injuries that we might have obtained in the course of the accident serve as reminder for us: we obtained those because we have the seat belt on us. If we did not, we would have a completely different kinds of wounds and injuries, or worse, we could already be dead.

In the same way, when we have Jesus in our life, when we fall into sin, the injuries would not be that serious. Indeed, Jesus offers us life in Him, that when we get out of the “smoking car,” we’ll be able to walk out of it gracefully, and we would be able to walk on our two feet again.

Tonight, the Lord promised me that I would be able to walk out of sin “gracefully” as long I allow Jesus to hold me tight, as long as I put my security to Jesus Christ; for when I do so, the cuts would serve as reminders of Jesus’ presence, my fall, and the need to repent. All of this boils down to my hope of heaven.

Thanks again to that sister who shared her story. All Praise and Honor is for the Lord, Jesus Christ.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

