A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

2007: Understanding…Not

October 16

“Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only in acceptance can there be recovery.”

This was a line that Albus Dumbledore told Harry during his fourth year in Hogwarts. Ever since my second year HS, I gripped this with both my fists, considering it as truth. Made it as an explanation of my situation then, that because I did not understand, I wasn’t able to fully accept, thus, I did not recover.

However, as I mature in my faith, I’ve come to realize that this is not at all true. Sometimes, there are things that even if our minds cannot comprehend, we have to accept it as a fact. That sometimes, we should stop at the basic thing that we should understand, not necessarily the whole situation, and that would start our healing. We need not understand why this and that happened, we just have to accept that it has happened, and understand that it happened for God’s plan to be realized, and someday, yes, someday, when its time to be revealed, we would understand why they happened. It is enough that we understand that God loves us so much that nothing, no one, can ever stop Him from loving us. If we allow that love to embrace us, then, it would act as betadine to our scratches. His perfect love, the one that drives out all fear, is the same perfect love that would heal us from all our pains and afflictions.

We just need to accept it first, then we will recover, and in His time, we will understand fully.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

