A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

2006: Sycamore Tree

July 4
“How high does a sycamore grow? If you cut it down, then you’ll never know.” This line from the song Colors of the Wind struck me while the song came to mind. I was riding the last jeep on my way home when like a radio suddenly turned on.

I pondered upon it some time and I remembered the story of Zacchaeus, the tax collector in Luke 19:1-10. Being a short man, he climbed a sycamore tree just to see Jesus as he was passing by Jericho. Jesus saw him and asked him to go down from the tree because he would eat at his house. Zacchaeus used this tree to see Jesus, even though he was a sinner, and he knew little about Jesus. He climbed up high the sycamore tree, which grows up to 60 meters high, just to see the celebrated man.

Without me searching Google, I wouldn’t really know how high the sycamore grows. But really, how can we know if we cut the tree down? No human being of our present time can outlive a sycamore tree for it lives, according to the internet, up to 600 years.

Then, I reflected upon it. I realized, we have our own sycamore trees. These are the things we use, or we do, to see Jesus better. If we cut down these things, if we stopped praying, if we stopped loving people, if we stopped letting ourselves be used by God, then we’ll never really know where out faith will lead us. If we stopped following Christ, stopped imitating Him, then we’ll never see our destination. In the end, all the other people would be crowding in front of us that in our shortness of height, we will fail to see Jesus Christ.

I told myself, I should not stop God’s working in my life. I told myself that I would let Him work in every aspect of my life, and then give back everything through my service, putting Him always on top priority. That means my family, studies, service in YFC, and other endeavors, should revolve around Him and just really do what pleases Him. I guess it pleases Him to climb up high, fighting with its broad leaves and branches, just to have a better view of Jesus. This way, He also has a better view of me.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

