A Quest

understanding reconstructions in life

2006: Signs and Wonders

June 21
God is just really making me more and more amazed because of His personal messages to me. Astig, as in! We just had our meeting for HS High at the CFC Center this evening. In the middle of the meeting, Kuya Dylan gave a short recollection. It was about being a missionary. The last point he made was seeing “signs and wonders” from God.

When I got home, really don’t know what to do, what to think. My heart was praying. I don’t really know what God’s plans are for me. I don’t know what His will is, since that is what I want to choose.

Remembering the talk a while ago, I reached for my notebook inside my bag and opened it on the page where I took down messages of the talk. The verse from our last upper household caught my eye. I wrote down “Deut. 5:32-40.” I wasn’t able to have time to think because it happened so fast. I remembered my Psych 140 professor from our last meeting. One of the things we discussed was the three big names who tried to simplify things. They were Einstein, Marx, and Freud. He asked us what was the common thing between the three of them, and he said that they were all Jews. “And there was another Jew who simplified things.” I smiled, and then whispered, “Jesus.” I didn’t know if he heard me but I saw him look at me. He said, “Jesus. He tried to simplify love…. There is a biblical proof for that! Its in Deuteronomy chapter 4… its somewhere in Deuteronomy 4 and it goes something like ‘Hear, O Israel, there is only one God…'”

Almost instantly, I reached for my bible and opened it in Deuteronomy 5. I looked for verse 32, I found it, but the whole chapter ends in verse 33. I was confused, but my fingers knew better and went back to the previous page and looked for Deut. 4:32-40. It was contained in one subtitle, “Chosen by God.” I read it and my tears was on the verge of falling from my eyes. Deuteronomy chapter four verses thirty two to thirty five contains the ff:

Chosen by God
32Ask of the times past. Inquire from the day when God created man on earth. Ask from one end of the world to the other: Has there ever been anything as extraordinary as this? 33Has anything like this been heard before? Has there ever been a people who remained alive after hearing as you did the voice of the living God from the midst of the fire? 34Never has there been a God who went out to look for a people and take them out to look for a people and take them out from among the other nations by the strength of trials and signs, by wonders and by war, with a firm hand and outstretched arm. Never has there been any deed as tremendous as those done for you by Yahweh in Egypt, which you saw with your own eyes.
35You saw this that you might know that Yahweh is God and that there is no other God besides Him…

Wow! Everything was inter-connected. I confirmed what our verse truly was, and she said that it was really Deut 4:32-40, she just made a mistake last time.

To answer kuya Dylan’s question “When was the last time you were amazed by God?” my answer was today. Tonight. It might not be a victory story in my area of service, but in my class, in my personal life.
God is just re-filling my cup up to the brim so that it can overflow and reach other people.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

